Information about Parlakhemundi Municipality

This Municipality was constituted as per order No.403(M)dated 17.8.1885 of ex-madras Presidency but after enforcement of Orissa municipal Act.1950 this Municipality came under the administrative control of Orissa Government as per notification No.3003/I&O dated 16.4.1957 of Government originally it was constituted with three villages namely

  • parla Khaspa
  • Kaviti Khaspa
  • Gheruvudiguda Khaspa

Consequently these three villages have been subdivided in to eight villages these are Relli shai Mouza ,GhangadharPur Mouza , Krushna Chandrapur Mouza, Dinakrushnapur Mouza, Gourachandrapur Mouza , Ramaswrmypur Mouza, Kavitipur Mouza, Paralakhemundi town Mouza.

The Population of this Municipality is 46272 as per 2011 census. Out of which 23185 are male and 23087 are female. The category wise break up on s.c /s.t are 7241 & 3500 respectively. And it contains 16 number of wards.

Deendayal Antyodaya Yojana-National Urban Livelihoods Mission (DAY-NULM):

To reduce poverty and vulnerability of the urban poor households by enabling them to access gainful self employment and skilled wage employment opportunities, resulting in an appreciable improvement in their livelihoods on a sustainable basis, through building strong grassroots level institutions of the poor. The mission would aim at providing shelters equipped with essential services to the urban homeless in a phased manner. In addition, the mission would also address livelihood concerns of the urban street vendors by facilitating access to suitable spaces, institutional credit, social security and skills to the urban street vendors for accessing emerging market opportunities.
Components are

  • SEP-Self Employment Program.
  • SM & ID-Social Mobilization & Instructional Development.
  • SUH-Shelter to Urban Home Less
  • SUSV-Support to Urban Street Vendor.

More information on NULM, Please Visit the URL : NULM

For more information on Paralakhemundi municipality, please visit the URL: ULB Paralakhemundi